Government and Politics of Mexico


Best Resorts In Mexico –  Enrique Peña Nieto, current President of Mexico.The 1917 Constitution designates a government of the Guild of the Republic with power distributed to three free institutions: the executive, the legislature, and the judiciary. In terms of history, the executive is dominating power through the presidency. Medium, the power of the law in the Congress stay following his direction only. Congress has been active again since 1997 when the opposition party first appeared in the legislative majority.

However, since the opposition party took power in 1997, Congress is getting more and more free in decimating the law. The President also has power under the executive order to draft specific economic, and financial laws. The President is elected every six years, and he is forbidden to hold the same position for the second round. In Mexico, there is no vice president. Should a President be dismissed or die, the Congress will inaugurate a Provisional President.

On July 21, 2000, Vicente Fox Quesada of the opposition Alliance for Change, chaired by the National Action Party (PAN), has been elected President in one of the cleanest and most free elections in Mexican history. Fox started his six years on December 1, 2000. His victory has ended the dominance of the Party of Revolution (PRI) for 71 years as a government party.

In 2006, Felipe Calderón Hinojosa carried PAN against Andrés Manuel López Obrador who was nominated PRD in a closed election. On 6 September 2006, Felipe Calderón Hinojosa was declared to win the Mexican Presidential Election in an electoral tribunal.


Mexican topography consists of mountain ranges, among them Sierra Madre Occidental in the west, Sierra Madre Oriental to the east, Cordillera Neovolcánica in the center, and Sierra Madre del Sur to the south; mostly lowlands along the coast, and on the Yucatan Peninsula. Inland high plateau country. Seismic activity is relatively high.

Only a handful of rivers can be navigated. Most rivers are short, and flow from the mountain range to the coast.

The Mexican climate varies greatly from the north-south extension, and varies in the highlands. Most countries have two seasons: rain (June-September) and summer (October-April). Generally low rainfall in the interior, and north. Rainfall is abundant on the east coast, in the south, and on the Yucatan Peninsula.

About The Author
Tinggalkan Balasan

Alamat email Anda tidak akan dipublikasikan. Ruas yang wajib ditandai *